Dallas Delight?

Week 2 of the McDonalds’ Great Tastes of America promotion is the Dallas BBQ sandwich, which they actually stopped serving yesterday but hey, I never claimed that timeliness was a trait of mine. I also don’t have a photo, again. Am I even committed to this food blogger lifestyle?

The Dallas BBQ is a beef patty topped with dry cure bacon, shredded lettuce, red onions, cool mayo and the ‘Dallas BBQ sauce’, served in a sesame seed bun of course. My verdict on last week’s Great Taste, the Miami Special, was that aside from the sweet, tangy sunblush tomato sauce, it really wasn’t that special. I hate to say it, because no one loves McDonalds like me, but I’d have to say the same for this one too, and it doesn’t even have the sauce. Maybe it’s because I ordered mine at 11pm after a disappointing, sober night out. But there just wasn’t any flavour.

The bacon would have been a nice touch, but it was limp and lacklustre. The red onions were about the tastiest part of the whole thing; I don’t know what makes the Dallas BBQ sauce any different to a regular BBQ sauce but it lacked any of the fruity, smoky tang that I’ve come to associate with it.

I feel a little bit heartbroken but you can’t win them all, I guess.This coming week’s special, the California Melt, features a cheese sauce and that’s probably enough to win me over. Til then.

8 comments

  1. Jaya · May 13, 2015

    I’m going to take this to my class as an example of ineffective writing! Maybe the writer should read some good food blogs to find out how to write about food?

    Like

    • That Pesky Feminist · May 13, 2015

      Lol mate do u think this is serious

      Like

    • That Pesky Feminist · May 13, 2015

      You should take your own comment along to class too as an example of ‘people who need to get a fucking life and stop assuming that everyone takes life as serious as they do’

      Like

      • Jaya · May 13, 2015

        Butthurt much?

        Like

      • That Pesky Feminist · May 13, 2015

        I will never be as ‘butthurt’ as you are pathetic, and I’m so glad about that

        Like

      • Jaya · May 13, 2015

        Oh, honey are those…tears?
        I think you might need a timeout before you come back to try to play with the big girls again. Can I suggest some intensive therapy for your personality disorder?

        I’m going to move on with my life knowing that your total lack of skill in expressing yourself will mean I’ll never hear from you again! Suck it.

        Like

      • That Pesky Feminist · May 13, 2015

        A good man once said: cry me a river (cry me, cry me)

        Like

  2. Pingback: California Melt My Heart | must eat

Leave a Reply

